2023 Presidency: Fayemi Gives Conditon To Support Consensus

The Governor of Ekiti State and Presidential hopeful, Kayode Fayemi, has given condition to support the idea of consensus in the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Fayemi said all presidential aspirants must agree to step down for the consensus candidate and accept the person if the ruling party eventually adopt consensus.

According to the Chairman of the Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF), the idea of consensus candidacy is democratic but he would love to slug it out with other hopefuls at the party’s presidential primaries.

He asked the APC to allow all presidential aspirants to test their popularity and give room for the delegates to choose the candidate who will make Nigeria a better place.

The Ekiti governor made this known on Thursday during an appearance on The Morning Show, a programme on Arise TV.

He said: “If the party eventually decides to go for consensus, all competing aspirants must subscribe to that person.

“So, really, once you get the buying of all aspirants and they agree on one person to be the candidate representing the party, there is nothing anti-democracy about that. It’s just the will of the members.

“However, I would prefer for us to have a competition that would allow members of the party to examine competing visions.

“We’ve all been going around the country. We’ve all been sharing ideas of how to make Nigeria a better place with those delegates, and with members of the party.

“And I think that opportunity should be given at the end of the day, but whatever the party decides to do as long as it is consistent with the constitution of the party and the Electoral Act, I don’t have a problem with that.”

Fayemi will battle for the APC presidential ticket against Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, APC National Leader Bola Tinubu, former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Minister of Science and Technology, Ogbonnaya Onu; former Minister of Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio; Godswill Akpabio; former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba and Governors of Ebonyi and Kogi, Dave Umahi, Yahaya Bello, Godswill Akpabio, among others.

This article was originally published on Nigeria News

Generated by Feedzy