Details Of PDP Southwest Leaders’ Meeting Emerge

The zonal caucus of the South West Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at the end of their meeting on Tuesday has insisted on a 2023 southern presidency.

This was part of the resolutions reached by the PDP leaders at the end of their meeting in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital.

As earlier reported by Naija News, the meeting was hosted by Governor Seyi Makinde at the Government House, Agodi, Ibadan.

A communique read at the end of the meeting by the zonal chairman of the party, Chief Soji Adagunodo said apart from the southern presidency, they also agreed to resolve all pending issues and disagreements in the interest of the party.

He urged party members to put the house in order and ensure PDP victory starting with the governorship elections in Osun and Ekiti states and keep the momentum for the 2023 general elections.

“We also resolved that the unity of the Southwest is a non negotiable issue; to this end, we demand that all dispute resolution mechanisms should be on the front burner.

“The zone is desirous of fairness, justice and equity in the distribution of Federal positions and appointments.

“We will support all efforts geared towards national cohesion through equitable distribution of federal positions and appointments among the geopolitical zones of the country,” the communique read in part.

Some of the leaders at the caucus meeting include Deputy National Chairman (South) Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja; former Board of Trustee Chairman of the party, Chief Olabode George, and former Governors Ayodele Fayose (Ekiti), Olagunsoye Oyinlola (Osun), and Olusegun Mimiko (Ondo).

Others are former Ekiti Deputy Governor Professor Olusola Ekeka; PDP National Vice-chairman, Southwest, Olasoji Adaguodo; PDP zonal secretary, Rahaman Owokoniran; former Senate Minority Leader, Senator Abiodun Olujimi; Senator Ayo Fadahunsi and Oyo PDP Chairman, Hon Dayo Ogungbenro

Chief of Staff to Governor Makinde, Hon Segun Ogunwuyi; Oyo Commissioner for Youth and Sports, Engineer Seun Fakorede; Prince Dare Adeleke, Executive Chairman, Pacesetter Transport Service, Hon Kunle Yusuff, Deputy Chief of Staff, Abdulmojeed Mogbonjubola, among others were also at the meeting.

This article was originally published on Nigeria News