Would Karim Benzema be allowed to play at the World Cup final for France?
KARIM BENZEMA topped a fine season by winning the Ballon d’Or.
But the Real Madrid striker was then struck by injury after being named in France’s squad for the World Cup.
GettyKarim Benzema back in training with Real Madrid[/caption]
Though Benzema is now back training with Real, with pictures emerging from their Valdebebas base.
So would he be allowed to play in the World Cup final should France beat Morocco and make it?
BETTING SPECIAL – BEST BETTING APPS FOR THE WORLD CUP
Would Karim Benzema be allowed to play at the World Cup final?
Karim Benzema COULD play for France if they reach the World Cup final – as he was never officially replaced in the squad.
The Real star had been ruled out by French boss Didier Deschamps, but is back training with his club team.
Marca report he has returned on time and has in fact been training without issue since last Saturday.
GettyKarim Benzema is training with Real Madrid[/caption]
And this means he could make a return to the fold if needed because he was never replaced in the French team.
World Cup 2022
Everything you need to know about the World Cup
World Cup 2022 LIVE: Latest news and updates from Qatar
World Cup schedule: What are the kick-off times for ALL matches?
World Cup prize money – how much does the winner earn?
Who are the ITV pundits and commentators?
Who are the BBC pundits and commentators?
Meet England’s World Cup wags, who are staying on a £1bn cruise ship
The strong form of Olivier Giroud means such a return is unlikely, however, with the AC Milan star’s goals so far proving vital for his nation in Qatar.
Benzema missed out on 2018 World Cup glory due to his ongoing issue with compatriot Mathieu Valbuena, which kept him out of the national set-up until 2021.