Why has Alex de Minaur withdrawn from Wimbledon 2024?

Why has Alex de Minaur withdrawn from Wimbledon 2024?

ALEX DE MINAUR has today unexpectedly withdrawn from Wimbledon 2024.

SunSport has all the details on the Australian’s shock departure from this year’s tournament.

Alex de Minaur has withdrawn from WimbledonPA


Why has Alex de Minaur withdrawn from Wimbledon 2024?

Alex de Minaur has withdrawn from Wimbledon due to a hip injury.

The Australian’s problem occurred after he felt a “loud crack” during his five-set win over Arthur Fils on Monday.

De Minaur called an impromptu press conference at lunchtime to confirm his withdrawal from the tournament.

The World No 9 was due to face Novak Djokovic on Centre Court today in the quarter-finals.

The Australian pulling out of Wimbledon means that Djokovic will have a bye to the semi-finals as the Serbian eyes his eighth tournament triumph.

What’s been said?

On his heartbreaking Wimbledon exit, De Minaur said: “I’m devastated to pull out due to a hip injury, a little tear of the cartilage which is connected to the adductor.

“I felt a loud crack during the last 3 points of match against Fils. I got a scan yesterday that this was the injury. It’s a high risk of making it worse.

“If I am completely honest, they haven’t been able to give a definite recovery plan as it is an unique injury.

“It’s based on pain. Right now, it can be anywhere from 3-6 weeks, it depends how quickly my body heals.”

Asked if there had been any chance that he would be able to play, downcast De Minaur said: “It’s no secret that at this stage of my career, it was the biggest.

“I wanted to do anything I could, once I got the response, I wanted to wake up today and hope I have some form of miracle.

“The problem with me going out and playing, one stretch, one slide, once anything could make this injury go from 3-6 weeks to 4 months, so it’s too much, too risky.”

Who is on at Wimbledon today?

Centre Court – 1.30pm

(4) Elena Rybakina (Kaz) v (21) Elina Svitolina (Ukr)

(7) Jan Zielinski (Pol) & Su-Wei Hsieh (Tpe) v Joe Salisbury (Gbr) & Heather Watson (Gbr)

A. Barty (AUS) C. Dellacqua (AUS) v A. Petkovic (GER) M. Rybarikova (SVK)

Court 1 – 1pm

(13) Jelena Ostapenko (Lat) v (31) Barbora Krejcikova (Cze)

(25) Lorenzo Musetti (Ita) v (13) Taylor Fritz (USA)

Court 2 – 11am

(1) Su-Wei Hsieh (Tpe) & Elise Mertens (Bel) v (11) Cori Gauff (USA) & Jessica Pegula (USA)

Rajeev Ram (USA) & Katie Volynets (USA) v Marcus Willis (Gbr) & Alicia Barnett (Gbr)

(4) Katerina Siniakova (Cze) & Taylor Townsend (USA) v (9) Lyudmyla Kichenok (Ukr) & Jelena Ostapenko (Lat)

Court 3 – 11am

(7) Carolina Dolehide (USA) & Desirae Krawczyk (USA) v Timea Babos (Hun) & Lyudmyla Kichenok (Ukr)

(1) Marcel Granollers (Esp) & Horacio Zeballos (Arg) v (8) Kevin Krawietz (Ger) & Tim Puetz (Ger)

Greg Rusedski (Gbr) & Iva Majoli (Cro) v Mark Woodforde (Aus) & Dominika Cibulkova (Svk)

(8) Barbora Krejcikova (Cze) & Laura Siegemund (Ger) v winner of Marta Kostyuk (Ukr) & Elena Gabriela Ruse (Rom) v (2) Gabriela Dabrowski (Can) & Erin Routliffe (Nzl)

Court 12 – 11am

Harri Heliovaara (Fin) & Henry Patten (Gbr) v (4) Marcelo Arevalo (Esa) & Mate Pavic (Cro)

(9) Neal Skupski (Gbr) & Michael Venus (Nzl) v Constantin Frantzen (Ger) & Hendrick Jebens (Ger)

Nenad Zimonjic (Srb) & Barbara Schett (Aut) v Thomas Enqvist (Swe) & Martina Navratilova (USA)

(6) Neal Skupski (Gbr) & Desirae Krawczyk (USA) v Fabrice Martin (Fra) & Cristina Bucsa (Spa)

Court 18 – 11am

(15) Max Purcell (Aus) & Jordan Thompson (Aus) v (11) Maximo Gonzalez (Arg) & Andres Molteni (Arg)

Jack Withrow (USA) & Aldila Sutjiadi (Ina) v (5) Andrea Vavassori (Ita) & Sara Errani (Ita)

Nathaniel Lammons (USA) & Ena Shibahara (Jpn) v winner of Jack Withrow (USA) & Aldila Sutjiadi (Ina) v (5) Andrea Vavassori (Ita) & Sara Errani (Ita)

Andres Molteni (Arg) & Asia Muhammad (USA) v (1) Matthew Ebden (Aus) & Ellen Perez (Aus)

Winner of Andres Molteni (Arg) & Asia Muhammad (USA) v (1) Matthew Ebden (Aus) & Ellen Perez (Aus) v Santiago Gonzalez (Mex) & Giuliana Olmos (Mex)

TBC – 4pm

Henry Patten (Gbr) & Olivia Nicholls (Gbr) v (2) Michael Venus (Nzl) & Erin Routliffe (Nzl)

(3) Mate Pavic (Cro) & Lyudmyla Kichenok (Ukr) v Maximo Gonzalez (Arg) & Ulrikke Eikeri (Nor)

Jamie Murray (Gbr) & Taylor Townsend (USA) v Kevin Krawietz (Ger) & Alexandra Panova (Rus)

Wheelchair Order of Play:

Court 9 – 10:30am

Joachim Gerard (Bel) v Maikel Scheffers (Ned)

Daniel Caverzaschi (Esp) vs Alexander Cataldo (Chi)

Ziying Wang (Chn) v Maria Florencia Moreno (Arg)

Angelica Bernal (Col) vs Xiaohui Li (Chn)

Heath Davidson (Aus) v (2) Niels Vink (Ned)

Court 14 – 10:30am

Ben Bartram (Gbr) v (2) Alfie Hewett (Gbr)

Gordon Reid (Gbr) v (3) Gustavo Fernandez (Arg)

(1) Diede De Groot (Ned) v Momoko Ohtani (Jpn)

Kgothatso Montjane (Rsa) v Lucy Shuker (Gbr)

David Wagner (USA) v Andy Lapthorne (Gbr)

Court 15 – 10:30am

Stephane Houdet (Fra) v Takuya Miki (Jpn)

Casey Ratzlaff (USA) v Tom Egberink (Ned)

Manami Tanaka (Jpn) vs Dana Mathewson (USA)

Zhenzhen Zhu (Chn) v (2) Yui Kamiji (Jpn)

Guy Sasson (Isr) v Donald Ramphadi (Rsa)

Court 17 – 10:30am

(1) Tokito Oda (Jpn) v Takashi Sanada (Jpn)

(4) Martin De la Puente (Esp) v Ruben Spaargaren (Ned)

(3) Jiske Griffioen (Ned) v Luoyao Guo (Chn)

Lizzy De Greef (Ned) v (4) Aniek Van Koot (Ned)

(1) Sam Schroder (Ned) v Ahmet Kaplan (Tur)

back link building services=