What You Should Know About Atiku, Wike, Saraki And Other PDP Presidential Aspirants

Barring any last-minute change to the original schedule or unforeseen circumstances, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) will today, Saturday 28th May, 2022, conduct its Special National Convention to elect its presidential candidate for the 2023 general elections.

Naija News reports that the presidential primary election is scheduled to hold at the MKO Abiola National Stadium on Saturday and on Sunday.

The David Mark-led PDP screening committee had earlier cleared former vice president, Atiku Abubakar; former Senate Presidents, Bukola Saraki and Pius Anyim; Bauchi and Sokoto State Governors, Bala Mohammed and Aminu Tambuwal.

Others were River State Governor, Nyesom Wike; publisher, Dele Momodu; former banker, Mohammed Hayatu-Deen; pharmacist, Sam Ohabunwa, Akwa Ibom State Governor, Emmanuel Udom and the only female presidential aspirant, Olivia Tariela.

Also screened were former governor of Ekiti State, Ayo Fayose; a lawyer, Charles Okwudili; Chikwendu Kalu and Cosmos Ndukwe.

See below a brief profile of the PDP presidential aspirants…

Atiku Abubakar

A former Customs officer and Vice President, Atiku is seen as one of the most experienced politicians vying for the nation’s number one ticket.

Atiku has contested for the presidency five times since he joined politics in 1993.

The Adamawa State born politician who is a force to reckon with in Northern politics, has had his own fair share of controversies.

Married to Titi Albert and other women, the former Vice President has been accused of enriching himself with public funds. He has however not been convicted by any court.

Nyesom Wike

Born in 1963, Nyesom Enzo Wike, a Nigerian politician and lawyer, has served as Chairman of Obio Akpor Local Government Area, Chief of Staff to Rotimi Amaechi and Minister of State for Education.

Known as a tough-talking individual, the Governor of Rivers State does not shy away from lambasting anyone he feels has stepped on his toes.

Abubakar Bukola Saraki

Born in London, United Kingdom, the smooth-talking Saraki was a medical doctor and also a director of the now-defunct Société Generale bank.

After serving as an aide to President Olusegun Obasanjo, Saraki contested and won the Kwara State Governorship election in 2003. He was reelected in 2007.

Saraki had served as Nigeria Senate President where he later fell out with President Muhammadu Buhari and subsequently left the All Progressives Congress (APC)

Ayim Pius Anyim

Elected Nigeria’s Senate President in 2000, Anyim Pius Anyim also served as the Secretary to the Government of the Federation under the Goodluck Jonathan administration.

Anyim who hails from Ebonyi State was one of the first politicians to declare for the 2023 presidency in the main opposition party.

Bala Mohammed

Bala Mohammed served as Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) under Jonathan’s government.

The Bauchi State governor had also served as a Senator between 2007 and 2010.

Recall that in February 10, 2010, Senator Bala Mohammed had courageously called and intensely promoted the Doctrine of Necessity in the Senate that led to the emergence of the then Vice President Goodluck Jonathan as the Acting President.

Aminu Tambuwal

Governor Tambuwal of Sokoto State was a former Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Tambuwal, a lawyer, was first elected into the House in 2003 after working as a legislative aide to former Senate Leader, Abdullahi Wali.

Tambuwal had contested for the PDP presidential ticket in 2018 coming second to Atiku and ahead of Saraki and Musa Kwankwaso.

Ayodele Fayose

The former Ekiti State is widely known for his spontaneous and carefree attitude. Fayose on numerous occasions has been seen relating with citizens at odd places usual for men of his status.

Fayose, who is a well-known enemy of former President Obasanjo, will be looking to defeat politicians with deeper pockets and national appeal at the PDP presidential primaries.

Udom Emmanuel

Married to Martha, Udom Emmanuel was a former Secretary to the State Government of Akwa Ibom.

He was elected governor of the state in 2015 before falling out with his political benefactor, Godswill Akpabio.

In March 9, 2019, Emmanuel was re-elected as Governor of Akwa Ibom State defeating 44 other candidates in the election.

Mohammed Hayatu-Deen

Hayatu-Deen is a former Managing Director, Fsb Intl Bank PLC. He is widely seen as someone who cannot grab the ticket of the PDP but using his ambition to negotiate for a top position if the party emerges victorious in next year’s election.

The former banker was part of a team involving some presidential aspirants who crisscrossed the country seeking a consensus.

Hayatu-Deen has however announced his withdrawal from the presidential race.

Sam Ohabunwa

A renowned pharmacist, politician and business executive, Sam Ohabunwa is the founder and former CEO of Neimeth Pharmaceutical.

Ohuabunwa is a fellow of the Nigerian Pharmaceutical Society as well as the present Chairman of the same body.

The former SURE-P board member will be hoping to pull an unlikely surprise in Saturday’s primary.

Olivia Tariela

Tariela is the only lady vying for the PDP presidential ticket.

Cosmos Ndukwe

Former Speaker of the Abia State House of Assembly, Cosmos Ndukwe is also in the race to grab the PDP ticket.

Ndukwe who is a vocal backer of a southeast President had dragged the opposition party to court for failing to zone its ticket to the Southern Region.

Chikwendu Kalu

Another former Abia State House of Assembly Speaker, Chikwendu Enyinnaya Kalu, is vying for the PDP ticket.

The presidential aspirant, who still represents the Isiala-Ngwa South state constituency at the House of Assembly is calling for more amendments to the Nigerian constitution.

This article was originally published on Nigeria News

Generated by Feedzy