Senate Leader Suffers Heavy Defeat In Kebbi APC Governorship Primaries, Scores Zero Votes

It was a resounding loss for Senate majority leader, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi at the governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kebbi State on Thursday.

Naija News reports the Senate Leader who is one of the aspirants for the APC gubernatorial ticket in Kebbi, got zero votes.

He lost out to the eventual winner, Dr Nasiru Idris, the National President of the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT) who will now fly the party’s ticket for the 2023 governorship elections.

According to the results announced by the Returning Officer and Chairman, APC National Monitoring Committee, Alhaji Idris Yahuza, Idris got 1,055 votes to emerge as the winner, another aspirant, Alhaji Abubakar Gari-Malam polled 35 votes to emerge second while the Senate Majority leader got no vote.

Idris who is also a Deputy National Chairman of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) while speaking after the declaration of results, appreciated his supporters and the entire APC for believing in him and giving him their mandate.

Some notable figures who witnessed the primary election include the outgoing Kebbi State Governor, Atiku Bagudu, the Minister of Justice and Attorney-General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami, Sen. Adamu Aleiro, Sen. Bala Ibn-Na’Allah, Sen. Muhammadu Magoro, and Deputy Governor, Alhaji Samaila Yombe-Dabai.

This article was originally published on Nigeria News

Generated by Feedzy