FULHAM’S Craven Cottage could have looked very different if initial plans for the redevelopment had taken place.
Construction on the ground took place in 2004 – three years after being given the green light by the relevant authorities.
FULHAMCraven Cottage could have looked similar to the Stadium of Light[/caption]
Fulham FCBlueprint for the original redevelopment plans[/caption]
AlamyThe iconic cottage would have been demolished[/caption]
GettyMore reconstruction took place in 2019 with work beginning on the Riverside Stand[/caption]
That period allowed for enough time to re-consider initial plans, with the original blueprint for the redevelopment a stark contrast to what was actually built.
The initial design was for all four stands to become connected in a two-tier bowl, much like Sunderland‘s Stadium of Light which was built not longer before in 1997.
Those plans would have erased the Johnny Haynes Stand, which is a grade II listed building along with the cottage, which remains in the corner of the ground to this day.
It houses the home and away team dressing room as well as offices including the head coach’s matchday office, a private dining experience, a players’ lounge, and a balcony from where guests can watch matches.
While the Jonny Haynes Stand seats 5,832 spectators and is home to the club reception, ticket office, club store and press room.
It is the oldest stand in English football having been originally constructed in 1905.
Craven Cottage was again redeveloped in 2019 with construction work on the Riverside Stand still ongoing.
The stand is expected to add around 3,900 seats, bumping up the stadium’s capacity to 29,600.
The Riverside Stand was scheduled to be finished in 2021 but the company overseeing the rebuild went into administration.
Fulham now expect the construction will not be finished until the start of the 2024-25 season.