Live Updates: PDP Presidential Primaries For 2023 Election

All is now set for the special convention of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) which is expected to produce the party’s presidential candidate for the 2023 election.

Naija News reports the presidential primary election of the PDP holding at the Velodrome of the Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja commences today, Saturday, May 28 and will run through Sunday, May 29, 2022.

The presidential aspirants are set to slug it out at the event for the chance to emerge the PDP candidate for the 2023 presidential election.

14 aspirants will go head to head at the primary election in the race to emerge as the presidential candidate of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in 2023.

Their fate will be decided by 810 delegates who have converged in Abuja.

Mohammed Hayatu-Deen Withdraws From Race

Ahead of the commencement of the primary election, a presidential aspirant of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Mohammed Hayatu-Deen, has pulled out from the race to succeed President Muhammadu Buhari.

Naija News reports that Hayatu-Deen, a former managing director of the now-defunct FSB International Bank, announced his withdrawal in a letter addressed to Iyorchia Ayu, national chairman of the PDP.

He stated that he withdrew from the race to be President because the contest has been “obscenely monetised”.

Read more.

Heavy Security Presence At Venue Of Primaries

There is the heavy presence of a joint team of security officials at the venue of the PDP primaries including operatives of the Nigeria Police, Civil Defence, and the DSS.

See some pictures.

Petty Traders Throng Venue

Petty traders on Saturday thronged the venue of the Peoples Democratic Party’s special convention, Moshood Abiola Stadium to make brisk sales.

The traders would be hoping to make great sales at the venue of the presidential primary of the main opposition party.

As early as possible, the traders had made their way to the pathways and venue of the PDP convention.

PDP Presidential Aspirants Still In The Race

Former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar

Former Senate President and ex-Governor of Kwara State, Bukola Saraki

Former Senate President/SSG, Anyim Pius Anyim

Bauchi State Governor, Bala Mohammed

Sokoto State Governor and ex-Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal

Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike

Akwa Ibom State Governor, Emmanuel Udom

Former Governor of Ekiti State, Ayo Fayose

Media Entrepreneur, Dele Momodu

Pharmacist Sam Ohabunwa

Olivia Mariela

Lawyer, Charles Okwudili

Chikwendu Kalu

Cosmos Ndukwe

Naija News will be on ground to bring you up to date information on happenings, activities and results from the venue. Kindly keep refreshing this page to get the latest updates.

This article was originally published on Nigeria News

Generated by Feedzy