Lionel Messi’s second goal for Argentina should have been DISALLOWED, eagle-eyed fans claim as they spot rule violation

LIONEL MESSI’S second goal in the World Cup final should NOT have stood – eagle eyed fans claim.

The Argentine superstar bagged twice on the way to his side winning the trophy he coveted most this evening.

GettyLionel Messi put Argentina 3-2 up in extra time[/caption]

GettyThe 35-year-old celebrates his second goal[/caption]

His first came from the penalty spot before Angel Di Maria made it 2-0, putting the Albiceleste in a commanding position.

Kylian Mbappe inspired an incredible late French comeback, however, his quick-fire double sending the match into extra time.

Messi, 35, put his side back in front in the 108th minute, however, netting the rebound after Hugo Lloris saved Lautaro Martinez’s shot.

It initially appeared that the effort might be ruled out for offside, when the linesman momentarily raised his flag.

But when TV pictures confirmed Martinez had in fact been onside in the build-up, the goal, which was nearly cleared off the line by defender Dayot Upamecano, was allowed to stand.

Watching a wide angle of the goal back, however, some fans believe that it SHOULD have been chalked off.

In a snap posted to Twitter, two Argentina substitutes could be seen on the pitch as Messi took the shot.

Their hasty celebrations meant that their side had 13 players on the field.

HOW TO GET FREE BETS ON THE WORLD CUP

TwitterArgentina had 13 players on the field as Messi put them 3-2 up[/caption]

One fan wrote: “Trivia. When the ball goes in, there are two substitutes on the pitch. Argentina had thirteen players on the field.”

A second replied: “I noticed that too.”

While a third fumed: “Wordless. But Argentina can’t win a world championship without help? It’s shameful.”

Another wondered: “I don’t know if it’s a technicality or if this can pass.”

One commenter argued back that the infringement didn’t actually matter.

They tweeted: “Go read the rules, didn’t intervene in the bid and in the game, legal goal.

“This has already happened several times, including one in Libertadores.”

As it happened, Mbappe would equalise again for France, netting from the penalty spot after Leandro Paredes’ handball.

Randal Kolo Muani had the chance to win it for Les Bleus with just seconds remaining but was brilliantly denied by Emi Martinez.

And the Argentine stopper then played a huge role in the penalty shoot-out, saving from Kingsley Coman and psyching out Aurelien Tchouameni on the way to a 4-2 win.

Generated by Feedzy