Gbajabiamila Grabs APC Ticket Unopposed To Run For 6th Term

Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, has secured the All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket for Surulere Federal Constituency I for the sixth time, unopposed.

The primary election took place on Friday at Akerele Primary Health Centre in Surulere, with the police, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, and the Department of State Services providing tight security.

30 ad-hoc delegates picked from nine wards in the constituency were accredited and voted in the election, which began at 3 p.m. with delegate accreditation.

While announcing the result, the representative of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Ganiyu Adeyinka, declared Gbajabiamila the winner.

As the single candidate for the ticket, Femi Gbajabiamila received all 30 votes.

Since 1999, Gbajabiamila has served in the House of Representatives. In the seventh National Assembly, he was the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives.

With 283 votes out of 361 in the ninth National Assembly, he was elected Speaker.

This article was originally published on Nigeria News

Generated by Feedzy