Erling Haaland Wins 2023 UEFA Player Of The Year, See Other Winners

Erling Haaland Wins 2023 UEFA Player Of The Year, See Other Winners

Manchester City forward, Erling Haaland has won the 2023 UEFA Player of the Year after helping the Blue side of Manchester to win the treble – Premier League, Champions League, and FA Cup – last season.

Recall that Erling Haaland who joined Manchester City last summer from Borussia Dortmund finished as the highest goalscorer in the UEFA Champions League with 12 goals.

He also scored 36 goals in the Premier League which makes him the first player in the history of the league to score such a number of goals in a single season.

This performance gave him an edge over his teammates Kelvin de Bruyne and former Paris Saint Germain star, Lionel Messi who is currently playing for MLS club Inter Miami.

While Erling Haaland won the UEFA Player of the Year, his coach, Pep Guardiola won the Coach of the Year for inspiring his team to win the Champions League for the first time in the history of Manchester City.

After he was named the UEFA Player of the Year, Erling Haaland said: “I am honoured to have been named UEFA Men’s Player of the Year. There are so many top talents across Europe who could have won this award, so I am really grateful to everyone who voted for me.

“We have an incredible team here at Manchester City and this accolade wouldn’t have been possible without the support of my teammates, coaches, and all of the staff at the Club.

“It was an incredible season for all of us and for me personally after securing the Treble. Lifting my first Premier League, FA Cup, and UEFA Champions League was an incredible feeling and it’s a feeling we all want to share again this season.”

Below are all the winners of the 2023 UEFA awards

Men’s Coach of the Year
Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)

Women’s Coach of the Year
Sarina Wiegnan (England)

2023 UEFA President’s Award winner
Miroslav Klose

Women’s Player of the Year
Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona)

Men’s Player of the Year
Erling Haaland (Manchester City)

The post Erling Haaland Wins 2023 UEFA Player Of The Year, See Other Winners appeared first on Naija News.

back link building services=