Coup: List Of African Countries Currently Under Military Rule

Gabon has become the latest African country in recent times where the military has executed a coup to remove the democratic government from power.

As earlier reported by Naija News, the Gabonese President, Ali Bongo, was deposed by the military, days after winning the presidential election in the country.

According to the BBC, soldiers were said to have appeared on Gabonese national television in Gabon to announce that they had taken power.

The coupists also announced the annulment of Saturday’s election and the dissolution of the democratic institutions in the country.

Speaking on Gabon 1 and Gabon 24, the spokesman of the coupist said he was speaking on behalf of the “Committee for the Transition and Restoration of Institutions”.

The development in Gabon comes at a time the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the African Union (AU), and other international bodies as well as countries are making efforts to restore democratic rule in Niger Republic following the recent military coup in the West African nation in which President Mohammed Bazoum was ousted from power.

In total, seven African countries are currently under military rule following a coup in those countries.

Below is a list of African countries in which soldiers have executed a military coup, taken over the government, and are currently holding onto power.

1. Republic of Chad (April 2021)

2. Republic of Niger

3. Sudan (October 2021)

4. Burkina Faso (January 2022)

5. Guinea (September 2021)

6. Mali (August 2020)

7. Gabon (August 2023)

The post Coup: List Of African Countries Currently Under Military Rule appeared first on Naija News.