Breaking: Supreme Court To Rule On De-registration Of 23 Political Parties

The Supreme Court of Nigeria will rule on the de-registration of 23 political parties by the Independent National Electoral Commission today.

The apex court will rule whether INEC followed the law in 2020 to de-register the political parties and ban them from participating in elections.

The affected parties include, Advanced Congress of Democrats, ACD, Advanced Nigeria Democratic Party, ANDP, All Blending Party ABP, All Grand Alliance Party, AGAP, Alliance of Social Democrats, ACD, Change Advocacy Party, CAP, Democratic Peoples Congress, DPC, Green Party of Nigeria, GPN.

Others parties include Masse Movement of Nigeria, MMN, Mega Party of Nigeria, MPN, New Generation Party of Nigeria, NGP, Nigeria For Democracy, NFD, Peoples Coalition Party PCP, Progressive Peoples Alliance, PPA, People For Democratic Change, PDC, and Young Democratic Party, YDP.

The rest are Re-build Nigeria Party, RBNP, Save Nigeria Congress, SNC, Socialist Party of Nigeria, SPN, United Democratic Party, UDP, United Patriots, UP, and We the People Nigeria, WTPN.

Leaders of the affected 23 parties and their followers are currently in court.

Justice Taiwo Taiwo at the Federal High Court in 2020 had ruled that INEC has the power to de-register the political parties.

The Court of Appeal in Abuja, however, upturned the verdict of the High Court on the ground that INEC did not follow due process of law.

This article was originally published on Nigeria News