Agbu Kefas Wins Taraba PDP Governorship Ticket

The Governorship ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party in Taraba State has been won by Lt. Col. Agbu Kefas (rtd).

Kefas on Wednesday gathered 443 votes to clinch the party’s ticket from the 517 votes cast.

The Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Joseph Kunini came second in the race with 31 votes, while prof Jerome Nyame had 24 votes to emerge third in the race.

Sen. Joel Ikenya scored 11 votes while Hilkiah Buba-Joda had 6 votes in the governorship primary on Wednesday.

The Chairman of the electoral committee, Kabir Bappa Jauro disclosed that two votes were invalid.

Kefas while speaking after clinching the ticket to the PDP, appreciated the spirit of sportsmanship displayed by his fellow contestants.

He called on members and aspirants in the race to work with him to ensure that the PDP wins in the forthcoming elections.

Kefas promised the people of Taraba State good dividends of democracy if elected in 2023.

The governor of Taraba State, Darius Ishaku who witnessed the election commended the delegates for their peaceful conduct.

Ishaku who said the will of God has prevailed, called for unity in the party.

PDP would be working towards retaining the state in the 2023 general election.

This article was originally published on Nigeria News

Generated by Feedzy