2023: Defecting Zamfara APC Stalwarts Meet Atiku In Abuja

The presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar received some stalwarts of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at his Abuja residence on Wednesday, Naija News understands.

The APC chieftains were said to have just decamped to the PDP and were led to Abuja by the party’s governorship candidate in Zamfara State, Dauda Lawal, to congratulate Atiku on his victory in the presidential primaries.

The development was disclosed in a statement issued by Lawal through his campaign office in Gusau on Thursday, Naija News reports.

Lawal quoted Atiku in the statement as saying that he will resuscitate the textile industry in the state as part of his rebuilding plan.

According to him, Atiku also promised to ensure that he (Lawal) defeats the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) leadership during the 2023 general elections to become the next governor of the state.

Lawal also quoted Atiku as saying that the only way to rescue and rebuild Zamfara is by voting out APC in the forthcoming election.

He said: “In order to achieve that, there is the need for having a united PDP which will be formidable enough to face any opposition no matter how difficult it may be.

“The best thing to do for the people of Zamfara State is to bring about peace, secure farms, and provide businesses.

“But the situation now is otherwise. We must unseat the APC to rescue and rebuild the state and the country. PDP administration will also resuscitate the textile industry,” the governorship candidate quoted Atiku as saying.

Lawal who was a former First Bank Executive Director expressed confidence that Nigerians are now comfortable with the PDP having felt the brunt of the bad governance of the APC.

He said: “Getting these stalwarts is a big harvest for PDP in Zamfara state, considering the calibre, status, and political value of the persons who left the APC.”

Among the Zamfara APC stalwarts received by Atiku Abubakar are Alhaji Salihu Mai Buhu Gummi, Alhaji Sahabi Liman Kaura, Alhaji Illili Bakura, Engr. Garba Ahmad Yandi, Hon. Ikra Bilbis, Dr. Na’Allah Isa Mayana, Hon. Mukhtar Lugga, among others, Naija News learnt.

This article was originally published on Naija News

Generated by Feedzy