2023 APC Governorship Primaries: Matawalle, Zulum, Cole, Emenike, Others Emerge As Flagbearers

The ruling All Progressive Congress, APC, has begun it’s primary election ahead of the 2023 general election.

The primaries were held in 28 out of 36 states on Wednesday 25th of May.

Below are some of the winners of the Governorship primaries.

Lagos State Governorship Candidate

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu won in Lagos State after two of the of his contenders; former Commissioner of Energy, Mr Wale Oluwo and former Permanent Secretary from the Ministry of Energy, Mr Mustapha Olorunfemi – were not cleared for the primary.

More than 1,225 delegates were expected to cast their votes in the exercise and 1,198 were accredited.

Of those accredited, 1,182 votes were cast with 12 regarded as invalid.

Gombe State Governorship Candidate:

Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya emerged as the flag bearer of the APC. He was unopposed. He received an overwhelming affirmation through a voice vote of 563 accredited State delegates.

Nassarawa State Governorship Candidate

Engr AA Sule emerged as the winner of the election.

He garnered a total of 735 votes to beat Dr Fatima Abdullahi the ex-wife of APC national Chairman Abdullahi Adamu.

Borno State Governorship Candidate:

Governor of Borno State Prof. Zulum who is running for a second term won the primary by 1411 out of 1411 votes.

Ogun Governorship Candidate: Ogun State Governor Dapo Abiodun won the primaries with 1,168 votes to defeat five other aspirants.

The other contenders were Abdulkabir Adekunle Akinlade; Biyi Otegbeye; Modele Sarafa-Yusuf; Owodunni Opayemi and Remi Bakare.

Abiodun polled a total of 1,168 out of 1, 170 delegate accredited votes.

Delta State Governorship Candidate

Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege emerged as the winner with a total of 1190 votes.

Zamfara State Governorship Candidate:

Governor Bello Matawalle of Zamfara on Thursday emerged as the winner of the APC primary election.

Rivers State Governorship Candidate:

Tonye Cole emerge as APC governorship flag bearer for Rivers state with 986 votes.

The total votes cast was Michael West 43, Tonye Cole Patrick 986, Bernard Mikko 2, Magnus Abe 1, Sokonte Davies 49, Ojukaye 190.

Abia State Governorship Candidate: High Chief Ikechi Emenike will be the flag bearer of the APC in the 2023 general elections.

He gathered a total of 672 votes to defeat his contender Hon. Emeka Atuma who polled 150 votes.

This article was originally published on Nigeria News

Generated by Feedzy